Book Reviews

Amazon – August 27, 2018

What a wonderful storyteller this new author is!

A book and animal lover friend of mine shared this book with me and what a good surprise and gift it is. The story drew me in right away and I was taken by how believable the animal communication and spirit world were in the dialogue and thoughts of the main boy character, Johnny, and how original this plot and theme were going to be. It has both an old fashion family setting and story feel to it as well as the supernatural, and asks futuristic questions about science, morals, and philosophies of life on Earth as we know it. Her writing moves you right along without wanting to stop until the end and left me wanting to read more.

ML Franc


Amazon – Febuary 12, 2018 – Format: Kindle|Verified Purchase

 

Fresh and Enjoyable “Modern Pastoral Fantasy”

I read this book with a bit of trepidation, having received it as a gift from someone who knows the author. But I ended up really liking it.

In a day when much of the fantasy aimed at young adults is post-apocalyptic dystopian, or Yet Another urban fantasy, “Johnny Outlander” is a pleasant sort “modern pastoral fantasy”, incorporating awareness and use of modern technology while being set in a rural environment with classic non-tech fantasy elements (like communications with animals, and magic.) It reminded me a bit of Simak’s “Way Station” (which is high praise – that’s one of my all time favorite books.) There was a collection of likeable characters, the story was well paced and interesting, and relatively uplifting, and it managed to present some philosophical ideas without being as “pushy” as a lot of other books in the genre…

Fresh, different, and enjoyable!

WW


Amazon – Febuary 11, 2018

 

Get your thinking cap out!

Fascinating book. Touches on the paranormal (people with “gifts”, aliens) without being campy. I was pulled in within the first two pages. When it ended, I was shocked the story was over. Great plot, good setup of characters, well written.
I would read other books by this author.

Kindle Customer


Archway Publishing from Simon & Schuster – January 22, 2018

 

Johnny Outlander, what a beautiful adventure from the preface to the epilogue, with a few goosebumps thrown in for good measure. I can’t wait for the story to continue. Johnny has already discovered so much as a young boy on his journey to learn what his purpose in life is. With a loving grandmother to help guide him, Johnny’s amazing “gifts” will flourish. Mother earth has a new Steward, Johnny Outlander!

De Linda


Barnes and Noble – January 4, 2018

 

It is an excellent read full of good idea’s and makes you want to learn more

In my review I will touch on several subjects, readability, content and observations of what the novel means to me.

 

 

 

 

 

Michael C.



Amazon – December 30, 2017 – Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

The story line went in directions that completely wowed me.

 

Daniel F.


Archway Publishing from Simon & Schuster – December 2017

Johnny Outlander is a wonderful read for all ages. I want a second book now. In the meantime, I am reading this book for the fourth time, understanding with each read more deeply the author’s message to the planet, and, as stated, wanting more. Love the characters…human, animal and plant…

Cathy


Amazon – November 26, 2017 – Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

 

A Fascinating Book with Major Relevance and a Fun Read

This is a must read for people that want to make a change in our relationship with this planet! Very readable and I found I could not put the book down until I had finished reading it.

A call to action to transform our relationship from consumers of earth to stewards of the incredible bounty that we inherited. The book also includes aspects of mystery and fantasy.

This book feels like the beginning of a major series of books. if so, I am already waiting for the next book in the series.

I strongly recommend this book!

Phil J.